a/e ProNet is excited to support the future of the design industry. We currently sponsor three national scholarships awarded annually:


a/e ProNet David W. Lakamp Architect Scholarship

This scholarship was initiated in 1990 and renamed in 1999 for David W. Lakamp. Mr. Lakamp was a founder of a/e ProNet and a trusted advisor to the profession. He left behind a legacy of professionalism and integrity that set new standards in the field of insurance services. The annual awards are given to the two students who best demonstrate strong interest in practice management.

Award: Two awards, $5,000 each
Eligibility: The scholarship is open to fourth-year undergraduates, and graduate students of architecture enrolled in an NAAB-accredited professional degree program. The promotion and selection are handled by the a/e ProNet Association. Eligible candidates are required to submit an application and the submissions are reviewed by jury members of a/e ProNet’s Scholarship Committee. Candidates must submit a copy of their transcripts, two letters of recommendation, and an essay on how they would resolve a project management dilemma.  

Applicants must include a Case Study essay and biography; a transcript from each academic institution attended since high school; minimum cumulative GPA: 3.0; two letters of recommendation addressed to the Scholarship Jury, one of which is from a department faculty member verifying applicant eligibility. Each recommendation should highlight three areas that articulate an applicant’s advantages or areas of excellence with practice and risk management; and a current resume.

Please review the entire electronic form before beginning the application process. Final materials should be sent via that electronic form. Neither print nor email applications will be accepted.  Be sure your name appears on all attachments.

Apply here: No Longer Accepting Applications

Past Winners:

Award Year Recipient Name Recipient School
2022 Jennifer Stieben University of Kentucky
2022 Sabrina Lem University of Illinois
2021 Alexandra Gottlin University of Oregon
2021 Schola Eburuoh Harvard Graduate School of Design
2020 Xinyuan (Luciana) Ma Carnegie Mellon University
2020 Robert (Trey) Hammond University of Oklahoma
2019 Hassan Anifowose Texas A&M University
2019 Vardhan Mehta Harvard Graduate School of Design (GSD)
2017 Emmanuel Cofie Florida A&M University (FAMU)
2017 Emily Wirt Georgia Institute of Technology
2016 Laura Colagrande University of Pennsylvania
2016 Jonathan Teng Washington University
2015 Alyssa Tope Virginia Polytechnic Institute
2015 Edward Pelka Columbia University
2014 Kevin Fletcher Wentworth Institute of Technology
2014 Nathan Blair University of Utah
2013 Josh Gerloff University of North Carolina, Charlotte
2013 Mark Manczyk University of Kentucky
2012 William Hood The Cooper Union
2012 Jake DeNeui Montana State University
2011 Gerald Reynolds University of Colorado, Denver
2011 Hannah Pempus Miami University
2010 Amy Jo Denton University of North Carolina, Charlotte
2010 Michael Smith Harvard University
2010 Kristin Drews University of Southern California
2010 John Paul Rysavy University of Texas Austin
2004 Cheryl Mollan
2002 Sonia Marie Solt
2001 Jeffrey Fiftal


a/e ProNet Engineering Scholarship

(American Council of Engineering Companies Scholarship)

Award: One Award $5,000
Eligibility: Applicants must be entering their junior, senior, fifth, or master’s degree year, in the fall of the coming year to qualify for the general scholarships. In addition, the applicant must be a U.S. citizen pursuing a Bachelor’s or Master’s degree in engineering or in an accredited land-surveying program to qualify. Bachelor’s students must be in an ABET-accredited engineering program; Master’s students must either be in an ABET-accredited Master of Science (MS) engineering program, or have a Bachelor of Science (BS) degree from an ABET-accredited engineering program.

Required: The student must first Register with the ACEC Research Institute. Once registered they will be able to apply for the a/e ProNet Engineering Scholarship.

Apply here: a/e ProNet ACEC Scholarship

Past Winners:

Award Year Recipient Name Recipient School
2023 Jillian Dlouhy University of Nebraska
2022 Rebecca Rasmussen Brigham Young University
2021 Jillian Brislin Northeastern University (Mass.)
2020 Ashlee Dikoff South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
2019 Zachary Jerome University of Tennessee Knoxville
2018 Leah Bectel Michigan Technological University
2017 Emily Valenzuela Colorado State University